•Great Ways to Exercise & Be Happy•

Bonjour à tous!

Recently, I decided to look after my health and wellbeing. One of the major parts of this decision was trying to do a little bit of exercise every day. Now, I’ve never been a gym girl or a super-food junkie. I don’t want to lose weight; I simply wanted to look after my body better. I wanted to be healthier, and I wanted to feel better – and I want you to feel better too.

Also, I really wanted to improve my skin, which hasn’t been the best as of recent times. So, I made a pact with myself to  do some form of exercise every single day. The great thing about this is that my exercise doesn’t have to be a huge amount every day.

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

Here are some of the things I enjoy doing for exercise:

• Hiking •

Hiking obviously isn’t something that you can do every single day, but I like to do it at least once every two weeks or so, usually on a weekend. There are actually a lot of places around South Australia where you can easily go for a beautiful day hike. It challenges you both physically and mentally, and since there are so many tracks, you can easily choose a difficulty level that is right for you. The nature is gorgeous as well, which is an added benefit. I often go with Mr Czech because he really loves hiking as well, and honestly I sometimes feel like he is my personal trainer: motivating me and occasionally pushing me up the path!

• Walking •

Walking is one of the easiest forms of exercise, and it feels entirely natural. I usually go with my parents around the neighbourhood, which is great for a chat or catch up. I also like to go on my own and just sort out my thoughts and decide for myself wherever I want to go. It can also be fun to listen to music, but make sure that you pay attention when you cross the road!

• Running •

Ok, ok, I’ll admit here that I haven’t entirely done a lot of running. However, it is something that I wish to do more often. One time, I was on a bike ride with Mr Czech (he runs, I ride), and we actually decided to swap spots halfway through as I wanted to try running. I didn’t honestly think I would get further than about 100 metres. However, I actually made it 1.5km! I know that isn’t much, but for someone (very recently) unfit, it was exhilarating – I even ran faster towards the end! One of my friends and Mr Czech both do running a lot, and they talk about how good they feel after a run. I want this too!

Yes, I have a bumbag. I am so cool, I know.

• Ballet •

As you know, I dance ballet. It is such a fun way to exercise – you can check out my reasons for trying ballet as an adult here. During the ballet term (the same as the school term), I always feel fitter and stronger. I also like to do extra ballet to strengthen my legs and improve my flexibility on YouTube channels like Lazy Dancer Tips and Kathryn Morgan. These videos can be as short as 10 minutes – and then I have done my exercise for the day! The key is balancing it out – longer on some days, shorter on others.

• Swimming •

I really enjoy swimming at the beach. Since it is currently summer (though not for much longer) in Adelaide, I have been going to the beach a lot. Walking on the sand and swimming around is really fun, especially if you go with friends or your partner. To be completely honest, sometimes I don’t do that much swimming: I just splash around a lot and enjoy myself- I still count this though! Being outside in the sun and moving my body is enough for me!

• Yoga •

I mainly do yoga through the YouTube channel Boho Beautiful. It’s a great channel because she does yoga for a lot of different levels of ability, and it really helps with flexibility and strength. Doing yoga also makes me feel calm and peaceful, and I can do it all from the comfort of my bedroom! It also really helps with my ballet – doing exercise in some ways helps with your skill in other areas of exercise.

img_7507.jpg

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

There are so many great ways of keeping fit, and the endorphins from exercise help make you feel happier as well! It can be annoying or a bit of an effort sometimes to get off that couch; but honestly it is so worth it. I am so much healthier and that makes me feel great inside. I have also seen added benefits externally on my body. My legs look and feel much stronger and a lot more powerful.

Additionally, the other day I looked at the little bits of fat that used to be right under my butt on the back of my legs, only to discover (to my utter shock) that they weren’t there anymore!! As stated before, my aim was never to lose weight as I am aware that I am in the healthy weight range and I am quite slender-looking. However, building muscle and starting to look and feel more fit is having so many more benefits than I ever imagined. I actually really enjoy moving my body: it feels like that is what I was meant to do (which, historically and biologically, is true).

I recommend for you to give it a try: or if you already do it, great! It can be hard to fit it in, but trust me, even 10-15 minutes per day adds up. Honestly I never thought that I would be the person to be preaching exercise (I do love reading/watching Netflix on that bed/lounge), but it really has improved my life quality so much.

If you wish to keep updated on my posts, here are my FacebookInstagram, Pinterest and Twitter ☺

A bientôt!

Save

Published by

Chloe's Voyage

• traveller • nature lover • multilingual • beauty • style • philosophy • history • photography • romance • ballerina •

12 thoughts on “•Great Ways to Exercise & Be Happy•”

  1. I love getting a bit of exercise in every day as well – I tend to go to the gym and I’ll either do a class or do something down stairs in the weights room or go for a run (I’m in that weird group who love to run haha) I certainly begin to notice when I miss to many days that I don’t feel as good – great post xx.

    Amy // http://www.thenoiseinwonderland.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes it’s so good! Your routine sounds fantastic, you must be feeling good 😊 It is so true that u notice it after a few days – I tend to feel a bit hyperactive like– where’s my exercise? Either that or super tired! Haha 😋 thank you xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

